Facebook Instagram Youtube LinkedIn Twitter/X

LETU Presents Forbis Staff Excellence Award to Debbie McGinness



dsc_0162.jpgLeTourneau University President Dr. Dale A. Lunsford awarded the Gerrie Forbis Staff Excellence Award to LETU Assistant Director for Academic Support Debbie McGinness during a back-to-school assembly of faculty and staff in the Belcher Center on the Longview campus.

The award is presented “in recognition of effectiveness in mentoring, dedication to LeTourneau University and Christian education, helpfulness to students, spiritual leadership, service and continuous improvement.” 

McGinness manages the tutoring program at LETU, including the math lab and special instruction programs on campus to assist students to accomplish their academic goals. 

A graduate of Idaho State University in biology, McGinness earned her secondary teaching certificate for biology and chemistry and worked as a junior high and high school teacher and administrator before coming to LETU in 2009.  She holds a Master of Education degree from LeTourneau University.

The Gerrie Forbis Staff Excellence Award began in 2016 when it was presented to the award’s namesake, Gerrie Forbis, as the first recipient of the annual award for excellence. Forbis has served in a variety of roles for more than 50 years at LETU and is currently executive assistant to the university provost.  The award was presented in 2017 to Jean Ames, administrative assistant for finance and administration, and was presented in 2018 to Wanda Davis, administrative assistant for Student Life.   

LeTourneau University is the Christian polytechnic university in the nation where educators engage students to nurture Christian virtue, develop competency and ingenuity in their professional fields, integrate faith and work, and serve the local and global community. LETU offers undergraduate and graduate degree programs across a range of disciplines and delivery models at LETU’s residential campus in Longview, Texas, hybrid options at centers in the Dallas and Houston areas and fully online programs. For additional information, visit

Categories: President, Awards