Facebook Instagram Youtube LinkedIn Twitter

LETU Aviation Faculty, Students Win $12,500 in Women In Aviation Scholarships


LeTourneau University aviation faculty Laura Laster and students Cecilia Kim and Abigail Lopez have been awarded scholarships totaling over $12,500 from Women in Aviation at the WIA international conference in Orlando, Florida, recently.

Laster, who is LETU's director of flight operations, was awarded the $10,000 Air Wisconsin ATP-CTP Scholarship for classroom and simulator training required to be eligible to take Airline Transport Pilot knowledge test. The training is provided by Air Wisconsin to four lucky winners from flight programs around the country.

Kim, won the $2,500 Christine Reed Memorial Scholarship to be used toward flight training.

Lopez won the $1,000 Sporty's Tool Scholarship from the Association for Women in Aviation Maintenance. The funds are to be used to purchase tools for her work as an aircraft maintenance technician.

Women in Aviation International is a nonprofit organization dedicated to encouraging and advancing women in all aviation career fields and interests.

LeTourneau University is the premier Christian polytechnic university in the nation where educators engage students to nurture Christian virtue, develop competency and ingenuity in their professional fields, integrate faith and work, and serve the local and global community. LETU offers undergraduate and graduate degree programs across a range of disciplines and delivery models at LETU's residential campus in Longview, Texas, and in hybrid and fully online options at centers in Dallas and Houston.

Categories: Aviation