Facebook Instagram Youtube LinkedIn Twitter

LETU President Appointed to Citizen Planning Group


LeTourneau University President Dr. Dale A. Lunsford has been appointed by the Longview City Council to serve on one of two new citizen planning groups to make recommendations to improve the city. The city council approved the group at the council meeting on Thursday, July 14.

Lunsford, who initially chaired an I-20 Task Force in 2013 at the request of then-major Jay Dean, was appointed to this new I-20 Small Area Plan committee to make specific recommendations for redevelopment of the I-20 corridor, which is important to the future of Longview and to LeTourneau University.

"Creation of a redevelopment plan specifically for our I-20 corridor is the next exciting step in a process that started with Mayor Dean's I-20 commission and continued with the adoption of the city's Comprehensive Plan," Lunsford said.

"Longview's location on I-20 is a major economic advantage that we have not seized," he said. "We can provide additional desirable services for interstate travelers to make a brief stop in Longview, and then also, we can create an attractive, welcoming front door for visitors coming to downtown, north Longview or destinations like LeTourneau University.

"A master plan for the I-20 corridor will encourage private developers who will have more certainty about the future we intend to build for our city," Lunsford said.

District 3 Longview Councilwoman Kasha Williams said she was delighted that Lunsford has agreed to serve on the committee.
"Having chaired the initial I-20 Task Force in 2013, Dr. Lunsford is highly knowledgeable of the importance of the corridor to the future of Longview, and he remains committed to the continued improvement of our city as a whole," she said.

District 4 city councilwoman Kristen Ishihara agreed.

"I am thrilled Dr. Lunsford has agreed to serve as a member of the Small Area Plan committee focusing on the revitalization of our I-20 corridor," Ishihara said. "Dr. Lunsford has been an integral part of the team of community leaders that have brought us to this point, and I am very grateful for his continued commitment and investment of personal time to improving Longview."

Other members named to the I-20 SAP included Kent Bryson, Dennis Rand, D. J. Nelson, Beverly Christopher, Rhonda Bullard and Joycelyne Fadojutimi. A second small area plan for Longview's downtown redevelopment will include Ron Hutchinson, Jon Cromer, Michael Black, Walter Northcutt, Mike Charry, Clair Henry Dr. Julie Fowler and Doug Bernard.

LeTourneau University offers undergraduate and graduate degree programs across a range of disciplines and delivery models at LETU's residential campus in Longview, Texas, and in hybrid and fully online options at centers in Dallas, Houston and McKinney. Claiming every workplace in every nation as their mission field, LeTourneau University graduates are professionals of ingenuity and Christ-like character who see life's work as a holy calling with eternal impact. For additional information, visit www.letu.edu.

Categories: (none)