Facebook Instagram Youtube LinkedIn Twitter

LETU Athletic Director Terri Deike Elected to Chair NCAA Membership Committee


LeTourneau University Athletic Director Terri Deike has been elected to chair the 10-member NCAA Division III Membership Committee, following a meeting in Indianapolis, Ind. Deike began serving on the national committee a year ago before being elected by her peers this week to chair it for 2013. Following her year as chair, she will continue to serve on the committee for three more years. Division III is the largest division in the nation with 453 member schools. The committee meets twice annually in Indianapolis and hosts monthly conference calls.

"This is a great honor for Terri as evidence of her leadership, and we are honored that LETU will be represented at the national level by her service," said LETU President Dr. Dale A. Lunsford.

The NCAA Division III Membership Committee reviews issues related to 453 Division III membership schools, including educational efforts affecting exploratory provisional, reclassifying and continuing members, monitoring and auditing of sports sponsorship requirements, and coordinating educational programs for the membership regarding NCAA legislations. The committee may impose penalties for the failure of any member to meet conditions and obligations of membership, including sports-sponsorship requirements.

"Division III does not give scholarships," Deike said. "Division III's philosophy is about the student-athlete experience, and that they can be a great student, athlete and still participate in clubs, intramurals and other campus organizations."

Categories: (none)