Facebook Instagram Youtube LinkedIn Twitter

LETU Names Three New Trustees, Elects New Officers


LeTourneau University has named three new trustees, Dr. Gene Frost, James Nolt and Dean Waskowiak, to its board.

Dr. Gene Frost is an alumnus of Wheaton College, where he majored in religious studies. Gene received his divinity degree from Northern Baptist Theological Seminary and his doctorate in education from Northern Illinois University. He began his career as a youth pastor and Bible teacher in a Christian school, then spent 22 years in the business world. His diverse business experience included being a pit trader on the Chicago Board of Options Exchange, a corporate trainer, and a human resources executive. His last 10 years in business were spent as President and CEO of an educational mentoring and software company. Gene returned in 2006 to his life-long passion of education, particularly Christian education, in his role as Head of School at Wheaton Academy, West Chicago, IL. Gene has had a book jointly published by ACSI and CSI entitled Learning from the Best - Growing Greatness in the Christian School and is presently working on a book concerning governance and leadership in the Christian school.

James Nolt of York, Pennsylvania graduated from LeTourneau University in 1974 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Welding Engineering. After receiving a Master's degree in Welding Engineering from the Ohio State University, he worked as an engineer and manager with Allis Chalmers Corporation. Nolt co-founded American Hydro Corporation in 1986, which designs and manufactures hydraulic turbines for the power industry. Since the sale of the company in 2010 he has been active as a consultant. Locally, he has served as the president of the Central Pennsylvania Section of the American Welding Society, the president of his country club, and a member of a the board of directors of a regional bank.

Dean Waskowiak of Longview, Texas, is the president and founder of Encore Multimedia, a leading regional advertising agency in Longview, Texas, that serves the marketing needs of companies throughout the nation. Dean is a two-time graduate of LeTourneau University with a Bachelor of Arts in History and Political Science and an Associates of Science Degree in Design Technology. He is deeply involved with his alma mater, having served as a member of the LETU Alumni Council for 15 years. Most recently, he served as president of the Alumni Council and as the alumni representative to the Board of Trustees. In 2004, he was selected as the university's Alumni of the Year, and in 2012 he was presented the LeTourneau Distinguished Service Award. Dean's activities to help God's Kingdom grow in quantity and quality includes leading Bible studies, mentoring groups and personal involvement in many Christian and non-profit organizations.


Pat Bertsche of St.Charles, Ill., has been elected the new chair for 2012-2013. He earned his industrial management degree from LETU in 1989 and has been involved with financial management, strategic planning and business operations. He has most recently has served as the superintendent of the Westminster Christian School where he formerly served as board president. Prior to his work with Westminster, he served as vice president of operations at Camcraft, Inc. In January, he is returning to Camcraft, Inc. in Chicago as the chief financial officer.

Larry Mercer of Cedar Hill, Texas, was elected vice chair. Mercer has served on the LETU board since 2000. His work experience has included interaction with the public school system, adult prison system, local church ministry, juvenile justice system and Christian higher education. Prior to his current position, he was the president of Washington Bible College/Capitol Bible Seminary and senior vice president for media and church ministries at Moody Bible Institute. He earned his bachelor's degree in psychology from East Carolina University and a master of theology in pastoral ministries and doctor of ministry in education from Dallas Theological Seminary. He speaks at churches and Christian conferences around the country and has authored one book on Christian parenting.

Paul Abbott of Jenks, Okla., was elected secretary. Abbott is CEO of Covington Aircraft Engines. He graduated from LETU in aviation technology with a certification in Airframe Powerplant License and Private Pilot License. He is a leader in his community, serving on different boards, including a bank, an economic development board, a hospital, a safety program for pilots, and a retirement community. LETU's Abbott Aviation Center is named in his honor.

Merle Stoltzfus of Elverson, Penn., was elected treasurer. He is a general partner for Stoltzfus Enterprises, Ltd., a custom home builder and real estate developer. Stoltzfus has served in revitalization efforts and transportation advisory committees in his hometown area. He graduated from LETU in 1971 with a degree in electrical engineering technology and has served on the LETU board since 1997, serving previously as chair and as treasurer. One of his daughters is a 2008 graduate and another is currently enrolled at LETU.

Categories: (none)