Facebook Instagram Youtube LinkedIn Twitter

Engineering Major Wins First Place in IEEE Video Contest


LeTourneau University sophomore electrical engineering major Zachary Phillips won first-place and a $2,500 scholarship in the fourth annual IEEE "How Engineers Make a World of Difference" online video competition. Phillips' entry was deemed the most effective in reinforcing how engineers and technology professionals improve the quality of life. The video was designed for an 11-to-13-year-old audience. He received both the first-place award ($2,000) and a special award ($500) for the presentation of his video to a "tweeter" audience in his home town. Phillips won second place last year. He will be recognized for his 2010-11 award at the IEEE-USA Annual Meeting in Austin, Texas, on 5 March.

The three-judge video competition panel consisted of: Andrew Quecan, a Ph.D. student in electrical engineering at Stanford University; Suzette Aguilar, a Ph.D. student at the University of Wisconsin; and Nate Ball, mechanical engineer and former host of PBS' "Design Squad."

According to IEEE-USA's Vice President Nita Patel, the video competition was designed to be replicated in IEEE student sections both in and outside of the United States. The winning entries are seen by the 11-to-13-year-old target audience at the annual EWeek Discover Engineering Family Day and on the "Design Squad Nation" Website. Reached by phone in Longview, Phillips told Patel that he produced his entry in a week's time during LeTourneau's winter break.

Phillips' winning 2010-11 entry can be seen at this link:

Categories: (none)