Facebook Instagram Youtube LinkedIn Twitter

Professor and Student Win Editor's Choice Award for Visual Literacy Research


LeTourneau University Associate Professor of English Annie Olson, Ph.D. and her student research assistant, sophomore Becca Westrup, recently won the Editor's Choice Award for their article in this year's book of Selected Readings published by the International Visual Literacy Association (IVLA).
IVLA is a not-for-profit association of researchers, educators, designers, media specialists, and artists dedicated to the principles of visual literacy. It was formed for the purpose of providing a forum for the exchange of information related to visual literacy.
The Editor's Choice Award is given to those researchers actively involved in ongoing outstanding research that furthers the cause of visual literacy, and to those who have achieved a substantial record of scholarly publication, and who have significantly advanced knowledge within the field.
"This award shows LeTourneau University is on the cutting edge of research on a global stage as a comprehensive university," said LETU dean of the School of Arts and Sciences Amiel Jarstfer. "It also demonstrates we are broader than an engineering and aviation school and shows the quality of our undergraduate students-that they can apply themselves to do this level of research."
Olson has taught at LeTourneau University for 11 years. This visual literacy project is based on her Summer 2009 research in Africa. Westrup traveled with Olson to Kenya last summer to work on the visual literacy project and is co-author of the research. They were also co-presenters at the IVLA Conference in Chicago in October 2009 and co-wrote the paper based on that presentation.
Olson earned her doctorate in rhetoric from the Texas Woman's University and her Master of English from the University of Texas at Tyler and her Bachelor of English degree from LeTourneau University. She has also received the J. Dean Bishop Award for excellence in teaching and received two research awards funded by the university's Title III grant.

Categories: (none)