LeTourneau University's Sting Precision Flight Team has scored some major collegiate aviation awards.

Most recently Sting defended their title as the reigning 2015 Region IV Champions for the third year in a row. The team outscored their nearest competitor by 117 points. In addition to this, the team took home several awards and first place finishes. To learn more, about Sting's winning history visit NIFA's Competition Archives.

In 2012, the team was awarded the Competition Safety Award for having displayed the highest degree of safety during the week of competition. Teams are judged on their ability to maintain a safe environment while handling aircraft, as well as their professionalism and behavior.

The 2011 SAFECON brought the Coach of the Year award. This award is presented to the coach who has demonstrated the best qualities in coaching, support, and leadership. Team members nominate the coach they fell best meets this criteria.

In 2010 the team earned the American Airlines Safety Award.

The AA Safety Award is presented annually to the college or university which has an outstanding safety record and demonstrates the most innovative approach to further aviation safety.

The previous year, LETU's flight team scored the Loening Trophy. Considered the most prestigious award at the annual SAFECON competition, the Loening Trophy recognizes the outstanding all-around collegiate aviation program in the nation.

2015 Region IV Awards

LETU Sting Trophy Case

2009-2010 Loening Trophy

2010 AA Safety Award

Questions? Contact:

Jered Lease

Assistant Chief Flight Instructor,
NIFA Team Faculty Advisor


Make a Donation
to the Sting Team

An Audience of One

"Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving"

Colossians 3:23-24