Advisory Committee

The LETU School of Aeronautical Science regularly collaborates with aviation professionals to ensure our programs maintain the standard of excellence and innovation our school is known for.

Many of these men and women got their start here; sixteen out of nineteen are LeTourneau alumni. Some have worked at one company, started in an entry level position, taken on increasing responsibilities, and now serve as executives. Some served with our country’s military as pilots (including flying Air Force 2), retired, and now fly as civilians. These aviation professionals fly, repair, design, investigate what went wrong in accident situations, and recruit for mission agencies. They manage airports, departments, and companies.

These industry experts bring years of real-world experience to help us hone our programs and curriculum, ensuring that our students graduate with degrees that meet and surpass industry standards.


 Systems Subcommittee

Luke Abbott

Covington Aircraft Engines

Alumnus: 1992

Previously: Short-term Mission Pilot with MAF

Christine Bowers

CMP Analyst,
Gulfstream Aerospace

Alumna: 2008

Mike Bunn

Aviation Training,

Alumnus: 1988

Seth Buttner

Manager, Accident Investigation
Airbus Helicopters, Inc.

Alumnus: 1994

Previously: Senior Accident Investigator, American Eurocopter

Norm Kopesky

ODA Site Program Administrator,
Gulfstream Aviation

Alumnus: 1978

Phil Olson

AO Aviation, LLC

Alumnus: 1977

Previously: Electrical Engr. Supervisor at Cessna Avionics

James Prater

Turbine Engines Services Manager,
Duncan Aviation

Alumnus: 1994

Tim Serbin

L3 Corp

Alumnus: 1996

James Walker

Senior Program Manager,
Boeing Aircraft

Alumnus: 1980

Flight Subcommittee

Mike Bresnahan

Virgin America

Alumnus: 1995

Wayne Cummings

Aviation Safety Inspector,

Alumnus: 1995

Bill Ewin

American Airlines

Alumnus: 1979

Tim Hoeksema

Chairman of the Board,
Midwest Air Group (retired)

Jeff Mansfield

United Airlines

Alumnus: 1992

David Schlener

Chief Pilot,
Stebbins Aviation

Previously: American Airlines Pilot

William "Dub" Splawn

Captain (retired),
Southwest Airlines

Previously: US Air Force, RET

Mark Williams



Air Traffic Control Subcommittee

Jeff Kleinbeck

Support Specialist
Minneapolis TRACON, FAA

Alumnus: 1975